Sharing and Supporting Anarchist Ideas and Experiences

Month: May 2021

Joyful Resistance, June 4

Online event, Friday, June 4, 2021, 4 PM UCT (5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST / 12 PM EDT)

Joyful Resistance banner. Image reads “Joyful Resistance”, with a clenched fist holding a pencil and a circle-A for the letter “a” in the word resistance. The image also contains the Anarchist Pedagogies Network logo, a circle around four hands holding each other.

Being an anarchist educator can be a pretty lonely affair from time to time. We’ve seen a need to approach this issue by many of our members and participants in our events, and we’d like to do something practical about it. Our first session was wonderful, and we’ve started registration for our second meeting.

Our next meeting will take place on June 4th, 4pm UCT. If you’d like to join our group, please sign up below. You will be asked to provide an e-mail address, and a preferred language.

Register here: https://forms.gle/xVPxX88Shn8vTu7UA

 

Studying for Another World: A Book Event with Eli Meyerhoff

Online event, Thursday, June 3, 2021, 4 PM CEST / 10 AM EDT

The common conception that learning must occur within an official, state-mandated education system is neither true nor harmless. Our desire to learn and develop often forces us to succumb to systems of control and of racial, sexual, and colonial violence. But this doesn’t have to be the case. In this event, Eli Meyerhoff will present his recent book Beyond Education: Radical Studying for Another World, in which he argues that key elements of education emerged from histories of struggles in opposition to alternative modes of study bound up with different modes of world-making. He draws on historical research as well as involvement in an anarchistic free university.

The event will begin with a presentation by our guest speaker, to be followed by group discussions and a coming together at the end for conclusions and questions from participants. The first part of the event will be live-streamed on YouTube. In preparation for the event, we suggest reading this interview with Eli: https://thenewinquiry.com/a-detrimental-education/

As all APN events, this event is free, but requires registration. Please register here: forms.gle/JR9zmj6DTusNSAtM8