Being an anarchist educator can be a lonely affair sometimes. We’ve seen a need to approach this issue by many of our members and participants in our events, and we’d like to do something practical about it.

Creating a community to share experiences and ideas is a useful approach to developing ourselves as educators, but we also need each other to take care of ourselves. Mutual care, as the emotional part of mutual aid, is an essential part of our survival and resistance in neoliberal educational environments. We’d like to invite all of you to our monthly Joyful Resistance group, where we create a safe space of mutual support to endure our struggles and create resistance networks together. Here, we’ll have a safe space to meet others, criticize safely, open up, give and receive support, and keep on our educational work together.

Our goal is to develop self-directed groups where we can create our own structures, topics and agendas.

We meet on the first Friday of every month at 4 PM UCT (5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST / 12 PM EDT) in Zoom: ubc.zoom.us/j/61690096173?pwd=YWE0YmIxU…